Tomorrow’s Schools Today publishes the latest news, the Staffroom magazine, competitions and resources for New Zealand teachers, principals, boards of trustees and support staff in NZ schools.


  • In News: Don’t Get Sucked In - new campaign to tackle teen vaping epidemic
>> More Staffroom Headlines

2019 school terms

Term 4 - up to 10 weeks
Monday 14 October
Term ends for Primary, intermediate and special schools:
No later than Friday 20 December (98 half days)*
Term ends for Secondary and composite:
No later than Friday 13 December (94 half days)**
Public holiday in Term 4: Labour Day 28 October.

2020 school terms and holidays

Term 1
starts between Monday 27 January and Friday 7 February
ends Thursday 9 April

Term 2
starts Tuesday 28 April
ends Friday 3 July

Term 3
starts Monday 20 July
ends Friday 25 September

Term 4
starts Monday 12 October
ends no later than Friday 18 December for primary and intermediate schools
ends no later than Wednesday 16 December for secondary and composite schools.