Tomorrow’s Schools Today publishes the latest news, the Staffroom magazine, competitions and resources for New Zealand teachers, principals, boards of trustees and support staff in NZ schools.





We will return with Weekly News updates on 7th February 2023.


  • Covid-19 summer checklist: How Kiwis can embrace their holiday season
>> More Staffroom Headlines

2022 school terms and holidays

Term 4
Number of weeks Up to 10
Term start and end dates Starts Monday 17 October, and ends no later than Tuesday 20 December (92 half-days)*
Public holidays Labour Day – Monday 24 October, Christmas Day – Sunday 25 December, Boxing Day – Monday 26 December, and New Year's Day – Sunday 1 January 2023

2023 School Terms and Holidays

TERM 1
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Starts between Monday 30 January (at the earliest); and Tuesday 7 February (at the latest), and ends Thursday 6 April (86-96 half-days)
Public holidays Waitangi Day Monday 6 February, and Easter: Good Friday, Easter Monday and Easter Tuesday
School holidays Friday 7 April to Sunday 23 April (includes Good Friday – 7 April, Easter Monday – 10 April and Easter Tuesday – 11 April (a school holiday))
TERM 2
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Monday 24 April to Friday 30 June (96 half-days)
Public holidays Anzac Day – Tuesday 25 April and King’s Birthday – Monday 5 June
School holidays Saturday 1 July to Sunday 16 July (includes Matariki 14 July)
TERM 3
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Monday 17 July to Friday 22 September (100 half-days)
Public holidays None
School holidays Saturday 23 September to Sunday 8 October
TERM 4
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Starts Monday 9 October, and ends no later than Wednesday 20 December (up to 104 half-days)*
Public holidays Labour Day – Monday 23 October, Christmas Day – Monday 25 December, Boxing Day – Tuesday 26 December and New Year's Day – Monday 1 January 2024
School holidays 5-6 weeks (from school’s closing day until the opening date the following year).

* For primary, intermediate and special schools: or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for a minimum of 386 half-days in 2023.

For secondary and composite schools: or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 380 half-days in 2023.