Tomorrow’s Schools Today publishes the latest news, the Staffroom magazine, competitions and resources for New Zealand teachers, principals, boards of trustees and support staff in NZ schools.



  • News Headline: School attendance increases
>> More Staffroom Headlines

2024 School Terms and Holidays

TERM 1
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Starts between Monday 29th January (at the earliest); and Wednesday 7 February (at the latest), and ends Friday 12 April (90-102 half-days)
Public holidays Waitangi Day Tuesday 6 February, and Easter: Good Friday, Easter Monday and Easter Tuesday
School holidays Saturday 13 April to Sunday 28 April (Good Friday – 29 March, Easter Monday – 1 April and Easter Tuesday – 2 April (a school holiday)
TERM 2
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Monday 29 April to Friday 5 July (96 half-days)
Public holidays Anzac Day – Thursday 25 April and King’s Birthday – Monday 3 June - Matariki Friday 28 June
School holidays Saturday 6 July to Sunday 21 July 
TERM 3
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Monday 22 July to Friday 27 September (100 half-days)
Public holidays None
School holidays Saturday 28 September to Sunday 13 October
TERM 4
Number of weeks 10
Term start and end dates Starts Monday 14 October, and ends no later than Friday 20 December (up to 98 half-days)*
Public holidays Labour Day – Monday 28 October, Christmas Day – Wednesday 25 December, Boxing Day – Thursday 26 December and New Year's Day – Wednesday 1 January 2025
School holidays 5-6 weeks (from school’s closing day until the opening date the following year).

* For primary, intermediate and special schools: or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for a minimum of 384 half-days in 2024.

For secondary and composite schools: or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 380 half-days in 2024.