Tomorrow’s Schools Today publishes the latest news, the Staffroom magazine, competitions and resources for New Zealand teachers, principals, boards of trustees and support staff in NZ schools.


REGULAR FEATURES

Recipes for Home & School by Pip Duncan, Food Safety & Nutrition Consultant sourced from the website of Choice Catering Equipment Limited
  • Courgette Channa Dahl

    Courgette Channa Dahl

    Courgettes and Marrows are still in plentiful supply so why not make this one pot and economical Channa Dahl and serve up for a warming autumn meal. …Read More »
The Gardening Gnome
      

Posted 11th April new releases for Easter and holiday leisure-time reading.

DINNERTIME GOODNESS by Nadia Lim, My Food Bag
Fresh, seasonal dinners the whole family will love. Read more...
The Changeover by Margaret Mahy
'A clammy hand pressed Laura down to her knees beside Jacko's bed. It was the hand of terror, nothing less.' Read more...
The Burial Hour by Jeffery Deaver
(A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) DANGEROUSLY GOOD. DISTINCTIVELY DEAVER. Read more...
A Tuscan Romance
Margherita's Recipes for Love
Escape to the winding cobblestone streets and rolling hills of Tuscany in this delicious, romantic and charming tale perfect for fans of Chocolat and Under the Tuscan Sun. Read more...
An Historical New Zealand Life Adventure
Leap of Faith by Jenny Pattrick
A vivid novel about ingenuity and hard slog, crooks and dreamers, bootleggers and love. Read more...
Adult Mystery Thriller
Hidden Hours by Sara Foster
Keeping her secret may save her family.
But telling it may save her life.
Arabella Lane, senior executive at a children’s publisher, is found dead in the Thames on a frosty winter's morning after the office Christmas party. Read more...
Adult Mystery Thriller
The Black Book by James Patterson
A gripping stand-alone thriller from bestselling author James Patterson.
How can you prove your innocence when you can't remember the crime? Read more...
A Dark Novel for Adults
The Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes
Joe Goldberg is no stranger to hiding bodies. In the past ten years, this thirty-something has buried four of them, collateral damage in his quest for love. Read more...
>> More Book Reviews

Follow Us on Facebook

Facebook
>> More Staffroom Headlines

2017 school terms

Term 1 - 10 or 11 weeks
Start date

Between Monday 30 January (at the earliest);
and Tuesday 7 February (at the latest)

End date

Thursday 13 April
(96-106 half days)

Holidays  

Public holiday: Waitangi Day
School holiday: 2 weeks (includes Easter and Easter Tuesday and Anzac Day)
Friday 14 April – Sunday 30 April 

Term 2 - 10 weeks
Start date

Monday 1 May

End date

Friday 7 July
(98 half days)

Holidays  

Public holiday: Queen's birthday
School holiday: Saturday 8 July – Sunday 23 July
 

Term 3 - 10 weeks
Start date

Monday 24 July

End date

Friday 29 September
(100 half days)

Holidays  

2 weeks
Saturday 30 September – Sunday 15 October
 

Term 4 - up to 10 weeks
Start date

Monday 16 October

End date

Primary, intermediate and special schools:
No later than Wednesday 20 December
(94 half days)*
Secondary and composite:

No later than Thursday 14 December
(86 half days)**