Tomorrow’s Schools Today publishes the latest news, the Staffroom magazine, competitions and resources for New Zealand teachers, principals, boards of trustees and support staff in NZ schools.


REGULAR FEATURES

Recipes for Home & School by Pip Duncan, Food Safety & Nutrition Consultant sourced from the website of Choice Catering Equipment Limited
The Gardening Gnome
      

Posted July 3rd a variety of titles

Cultural heritage pick for young and old
Nga Atua – Maori Gods by Robyn Kahukiwa
A book to treasure for young and old, Robyn Kahukiwa’s Nga Atua: Maori Gods takes the reader on a visual journey while imparting simple and effective explanations of the major Maori gods. Read more…
Historical romance for holiday reading
Midnight Jewel by Richelle Mead
The Selection meets Reign in this dazzling trilogy of interwoven novels about three girls on a quest for freedom and true love from #1 internationally bestselling author Richelle Mead. Read more…
A mystery novel on dealing with life and death for young adults
Juniper Lemon’s Happiness by Julie Israel
Funny, warm, and moving, Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index is a contemporary YA novel about loss, how deeply we can know others, and making our own happiness; perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Jandy Nelson’s The Sky Is Everywhere. Read more…
An entertaining tale with a serious message for 9 years and under
See You When I See You by Rose Lagercrantz
Dani is on a school trip to the zoo, and the teacher tells the children how to stay safe and not get lost. Read more…
A Life in Science
SCIENCE IN THE SOUL by Richard Dawkins
A new anthology of essays and previously published and unpublished work by the brilliant evolutionary biologist, author of The Selfish Gene and The God Delusion. Read more…
An hilarious book with a serious message for students and teachers alike
POTTYMOUTH AND STOOPID by James Patterson
Tired of being bullied, middle-school underdogs ‘Pottymouth’ and ‘Stoopid’ finally fight back with the power of funny. Read more…
>> More Book Reviews

Follow Us on Facebook

Facebook
>> More Staffroom Headlines

2017 school terms

Term 1 - 10 or 11 weeks
Start date

Between Monday 30 January (at the earliest);
and Tuesday 7 February (at the latest)

End date

Thursday 13 April
(96-106 half days)

Holidays  

Public holiday: Waitangi Day
School holiday: 2 weeks (includes Easter and Easter Tuesday and Anzac Day)
Friday 14 April – Sunday 30 April 

Term 2 - 10 weeks
Start date

Monday 1 May

End date

Friday 7 July
(98 half days)

Holidays  

Public holiday: Queen's birthday
School holiday: Saturday 8 July – Sunday 23 July
 

Term 3 - 10 weeks
Start date

Monday 24 July

End date

Friday 29 September
(100 half days)

Holidays  

2 weeks
Saturday 30 September – Sunday 15 October
 

Term 4 - up to 10 weeks
Start date

Monday 16 October

End date

Primary, intermediate and special schools:
No later than Wednesday 20 December
(94 half days)*
Secondary and composite:

No later than Thursday 14 December
(86 half days)**