Tomorrow’s Schools Today publishes the latest news, the Staffroom magazine, competitions and resources for New Zealand teachers, principals, boards of trustees and support staff in NZ schools.


  • More dangerous mossies on the horizon

2018 March releases.

A true story of lesser known evils and effects of the 2nd World War in the Pacific
White Chrysanthemum by Mary Lynn Bracht
Hana and her little sister Emi are part of an island community of haenyeo, women who make their living from diving deep into the sea off the southernmost tip of Korea at the time of the Japanese invasion of mainland during World War 2. Read more…
A must read for teachers and parents
SAFE by Chris Ryan
How to stay safe in a dangerous world: Survival techniques for everyday life from an SAS hero. Read more…
Unravelling the myths with the truth about weight loss
Everyday Diet Secrets by Mary-Rose Spence NZ Registered Dietitian
You should have a life – not a diet. Diets don’t work, because a diet designed for everybody isn’t designed for your body. Read more…
Presenting Album 37 with the next action-packed adventure from Asterix and Obelix
Asterix and the Chariot Race by Jean-Yves Ferri and Didier Conrad
The roads across Italy are in disrepair. Defending his name, and to prove Rome’s greatness, Senator Lactus Bifidus announces a special one-off chariot race. Read more…
The Autobiography of the creator of NIKE – young readers edition
Shoe Dog by Phil Knight
Phil Knight shares the inside story of the company’s early days as an intrepid start-up and its evolution into one of the world’s most iconic, game-changing, and profitable brands. Read more…
A Pictorial and Timeline account on a lesser known part of New Zealand’s History
The New Zealand Wars by Philippa Werry
The story of the 19th century New Zealand Wars, a part of New Zealand’s history that many people wish they knew more about. Read more…
The Natural History of the 11 species of Giant Weta in picture book format
Gentle Giant Wetapunga by Annemarie Florian and Terry Fitzgibbon
Impressed with the spectacular size and startling features of these colossal crickets, Maori dubbed them Wetapunga, god of ugly things. Read more…
>> More Book Reviews
>> More Staffroom Headlines

Follow Us on Facebook

Facebook

2018 school terms

Term 1 - 11 weeks

START DATE
Between Monday 29 January (at the earliest) and Wednesday 7 February (at the latest).

END DATE
Friday 13 April
(90 -102 half days)

Public holidays:
Waitangi Day 6 February,
Easter: Good Friday 30 March,
Easter Monday 2 April
and Easter Tuesday 3 April (a school holiday)
School holiday: Saturday 14 April - Sunday 29 April (includes ANZAC day 25 April).

Term 2 - 10 weeks

START DATE

Monday 30 April

END DATE
Friday 6 July
(98 half days)

Public holiday:
Queen’s Birthday 4 June
School holiday: Saturday 7 July – Sunday 22 July

Term 3 - 10 weeks

START DATE
Monday 23 July

END DATE
Friday 28 September
(100 half days) School holidays: Saturday 29 September – Sunday 14 October

Term 4 - up to 10 weeks

START DATE
Monday 15 October

END DATE
Primary, intermediate and special schools:
No later than Thursday 20 December
(96 half days)*

Secondary and composite:
No later than Tuesday 18 December
(92 half days)**

Public holidays:
Labour Day 22 October, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year's Day
School holiday: 5 or 6 weeks (from school’s closing date until opening date of school the following year)

* Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 384 half days in 2018.
** Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 380 half days in 2018.