News in Education will return at the start of Term I 2017.
The team at TSTNZ wishes all our readers a safe and happy Christmas and New Year.




Regular Features

Natural Health advice from people who care:
Recipes for Home & School by Pip Duncan, Food Safety & Nutrition Consultant sourced from the website of Choice Catering Equipment Limited
         

2017 school terms

Term 1 - 10 or 11 weeks
Start date

Between Monday 30 January (at the earliest);
and Tuesday 7 February (at the latest)

End date

Thursday 13 April
(96-106 half days)

Holidays  

Public holiday: Waitangi Day
School holiday: 2 weeks (includes Easter and Easter Tuesday and Anzac Day)
Friday 14 April – Sunday 30 April 

Term 2 - 10 weeks
Start date

Monday 1 May

End date

Friday 7 July
(98 half days)

Holidays  

Public holiday: Queen's birthday
School holiday: Saturday 8 July – Sunday 23 July
 

Term 3 - 10 weeks
Start date

Monday 24 July

End date

Friday 29 September
(100 half days)

Holidays  

2 weeks
Saturday 30 September – Sunday 15 October
 

Term 4 - up to 10 weeks
Start date

Monday 16 October

End date

Primary, intermediate and special schools:
No later than Wednesday 20 December
(94 half days)*
Secondary and composite:

No later than Thursday 14 December
(86 half days)**

Holidays  

Public holidays: Labour Day 23 October, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year's Day
School holiday: 5-6 weeks from school’s closing date until opening date of school the following year.

* Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 388 half days in 2017.
** Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 380 half days in 2017.

Follow Us on Facebook

Facebook

Weekly News

2 New books to welcome in the New Year
Posted 11th January 2017



NEW in 2016 Daytrips
with Cafes & Restaurants