Attention Teachers & School Librarians:

Displayed on this page are links to overviews of the latest books which have been released in New Zealand within the last two or three months. Included in each overview or review is the reading age and recommended retail price or RRP of each publication.

The Book Reviews Library image on the right of this page takes you to our archive of books released in the last 2 years.

Attention Bookshops and other suppliers to NZ Schools:

To advertise on this page please email salesmanager@tstnz.com
or phone 03 366 0500 or text 021 183 2280.

Cook Books for Christmas + more book gifts for all the family posted 12th September 2017.

5 Ingredients – Quick & Easy Food by Jamie Oliver
Quick & Easy Food is the brand new cookbook from Jamie Oliver. Read more…
The Revive Café Cookbook 6 by Jeremy Dixon
80 all new recipes, 41 Dessert/Baking and non-bake raw recipes. Read more…
Historical novel from the most famous period of English history
The Last Tudor by Philippa Gregory
The latest novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Philippa Gregory features one of the most famous girls in history, Lady Jane Grey, and her two sisters, each of whom dared to defy her queen. Read more…
A brand new edition of Roald Dahl’s very last story
Billy and the Minpins by Roald Dahl
A brand new edition, illustrated by Quentin Blake for the first time. Pre-order now to complete your collection in time for Roald Dahl Day, September 2017. Read more…
Teen Fiction
Maybe by Morris Gleitzman
The next powerful episode in the life of Felix, hero of Morris Gleitzman’s multi-award-winning Once, Then, Now, After and Soon. Read more…
Latest in the Middle School series
Laugh Out Loud by James Patterson and Chris Grabenstein
Get ready to Laugh Out Loud (a lot!) with James Patterson’s newest illustrated middle grade story. Read more…
Cardboard Picture Book Fun!
Bim Bam Boom by Frederic Stehr
What are you all doing with the pots, pans and spoons? Making music! A joyful celebration of the unwitting naughtiness of toddlers. Read more…
Real Life Adventures in Wild New Zealand
WILDBOY: To The Edge and Back by Brando Yelavich
More Adventures Through Rugged, Remote New Zealand. A heart-stopping account of Brando ‘Wildboy’ Yelavich’s solo mission around Stewart Island – New
Zealand’s harshest and most remote terrain. Read more…
3 Adult Thrillers
HIDING IN PLAIN SIGHT by Susan Lewis
The surprising new novel from the Sunday Times Top Ten bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors and The Moment She Left. Read more…
THE STORE by James Patterson
A stunning stand-alone thriller from the world’s bestselling thriller
writer. The Store doesn’t just want your money – it wants your soul. Read more…
SILENT WEAPON – A STREET SOLDIER NOVEL by Andy McNab
The next high-octane thriller from Andy McNab – featuring young
convict-turned-soldier Sean Harker, and a race to stop a deadly threat. Read more…
Children’s Fiction – Just released a new Rainbow Magic book!
Tiana the Toy Fairy: The Land of Sweets
Toys And Me Special Edition 2 by Daisy Meadows. Read more…
NEW DRAMA RESOURCE
Harry Potter and The Cursed Child: Parts One and Two Playscript
The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later. Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. Read more…
Historical novel for adults from Australia’s Top End
The Inaugural Meeting of the Fairvale Ladies Book Club by Sophie Green
In 1978 the Northern Territory has begun to self-govern. Cyclone Tracy is a recent memory and telephones not yet a fixture on the cattle stations dominating the rugged outback. Life is hard and people are isolated. But they find ways to
connect. Read more…
A Viking Epic drawn from Icelandic Sagas inspired by a true love story
The Half Drowned King by Linnea Hartsuyker
‘Lovers of epic rejoice!…A vivid and gripping read’ Madeline Miller,
author of the Orange Prize Winner 2012 for The Song of Achilles. Read more…
A call to arms to women everywhere!
You Play The Girl by Carina Chocan
We all know who The Girl is. She holds The Hero’s hand as he runs through the Pyramids, chasing robots. Read more…
Latest from Stephen King:
Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger by Stephen King
In this first novel in his epic fantasy masterpiece, Stephen King introduces readers to one of his most enigmatic heroes, Roland of Gilead, the Last Gunslinger. Read more…
Light Touch by Stephen Leather
Working undercover is all about trust – getting the target to trust you and
then betraying them in order to bring them to justice. Read more…
Fifty Fifty by Candice Fox and James Patterson
In this stunning sequel to the bestselling Never Never, Detective Harriet Blue must choose – between saving her brother or saving a whole town… Read more…
The Destroyers by Christopher Bollen
‘The Destroyers is a smart, sophisticated literary thriller; for all its originality, it invokes the shades of Lawrence Durrell and Graham Greene’ Jay McInerney, author of Bright, Precious Days. Read more…
The Decline and Fall on Savage Street by Fiona Farrell
A fascinating novel about a house with a fanciful little turret, built by a
river. Read more…
TEEN FICTION
Friend Request by Laura Marshall
‘A read-it-in-one-sitting thriller . . . Twisty and gripping but always
relatable, FRIEND REQUEST is the ultimate it-could-happen-to-you read’ Erin Kelly. Read more…
The Witchwood Crown by Tad Williams
Book One of The Last King of Osten Ard. The stunning successor to Memory, Sorrow and Thorn, one of the greatest fantasy trilogies of all time… Read more…
When Dimple Met Rishi a LOL heartfelt Rom-Com by Sandhya Menon
Meet Dimple. Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get
to university and begin her plan for tech world domination. Read more…
Children’s Fiction – The Secret Princesses Sapphire Collection + more new releases for primary school libraries!
Secret Princesses: Fashion Fun by Rosie Banks
A gorgeous series about magical princesses and best friends. This book is a long adventure for even more magical fun! Read more…
Secret Princesses: Brilliant Bake Off by Rosie Banks
Best friends Charlotte and Mia are training to become Secret Princesses, magical princesses with the power to make wishes come true! Read more…
Secret Princesses: Gymnastics Glory by Rosie Banks
Layla would love to be on a gymnastics team, but horrid Princess Poison has taken her lucky charm! Read more…
Secret Princesses: Picture Perfect by Rosie Banks
Isla’s worried about her mum’s art shop – if they don’t start making more money it’ll have to close down! Read more…
The Haunting by Margaret Mahy
“You’re really starting to look haunted, you know . . . sort of yellowish and transparent like cooking oil, and your eyes are funny.” Read more…
The Starman and Me by Sharon Cohen
E.T. meets Stig of the Dump in a page-turning adventure for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and David Almond. Read more…
Chase by Linwood Barclay
Get ready to run . . . an edge-of-your-seat thriller with bite from
international bestselling author Linwood Barclay, in his first novel for 9-12 year olds. Read more…
Middle School: Million-Dollar Mess Down Under by James Patterson
Rafe Khatchadorian gets schooled in Sydney! Read more…
Soda Pop by Barbro Lindgren
Soda Pop is an anarchic story full of playful nonsense in which the usual
rules and prejudices do not exist. Read more…
First reader picture books for 5+ years
Sky High: Jean Batten’s Incredible Flying Adventures by David Hill
Brave, trail-blazing and glamorous, this stunning picture book tells the
true story of how Jean Batten became an international superstar for her solo
flights across the world. Read more…
Charlie the Choo-Choo by Beryl Evans
From the world of The Dark Tower comes a picture book about a train engine and his devoted engineer – unmissable for fans of Stephen King’s bestselling
series. Read more…
Where is Grandma? By Peter Schossow
Henry is visiting his grandmother in the hospital, and decides to go on
alone. Read more…


Testimonial
Hi Ann and the TSTNZ Team I am emailing you to express just how much I appreciate the Book Reviews on the Tomorrow’s Schools Today Website, in The Staffroom Monthly Magazine page. I use these reviews for purchasing new books for our school library and look forward to these reviews each month. They are well written, with just enough content to allow me to know which reader the book would interest. Regards Annette McKitrick, Librarian Waimea Intermediate School, Richmond, Nelson