Attention Teachers & School Librarians:

Displayed on this page are links to overviews of the latest books which have been released in New Zealand within the last two or three months. Included in each overview or review is the reading age and recommended retail price or RRP of each publication.

The Book Reviews Library image on the right of this page takes you to our archive of books released in the last 2 years.

Attention Bookshops and other suppliers to NZ Schools:

To advertise on this page please email salesmanager@tstnz.com
or phone 03 366 0500 or text 021 183 2280.

Posted 11th April new releases for Easter and holiday leisure-time reading.

DINNERTIME GOODNESS by Nadia Lim, My Food Bag
Fresh, seasonal dinners the whole family will love. Read more...
The Changeover by Margaret Mahy
'A clammy hand pressed Laura down to her knees beside Jacko's bed. It was the hand of terror, nothing less.' Read more...
The Burial Hour by Jeffery Deaver
(A Lincoln Rhyme Novel) DANGEROUSLY GOOD. DISTINCTIVELY DEAVER. Read more...
A Tuscan Romance
Margherita's Recipes for Love
Escape to the winding cobblestone streets and rolling hills of Tuscany in this delicious, romantic and charming tale perfect for fans of Chocolat and Under the Tuscan Sun. Read more...
An Historical New Zealand Life Adventure
Leap of Faith by Jenny Pattrick
A vivid novel about ingenuity and hard slog, crooks and dreamers, bootleggers and love. Read more...
Adult Mystery Thriller
The Hidden Hours by Sara Foster
Keeping her secret may save her family.
But telling it may save her life.
Arabella Lane, senior executive at a children’s publisher, is found dead in the Thames on a frosty winter's morning after the office Christmas party. Read more...
Adult Mystery Thriller
The Black Book by James Patterson
A gripping stand-alone thriller from bestselling author James Patterson.
How can you prove your innocence when you can't remember the crime? Read more...
A Dark Novel for Adults
Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes
Joe Goldberg is no stranger to hiding bodies. In the past ten years, this thirty-something has buried four of them, collateral damage in his quest for love. Read more...
3 New Detective Stories for Kids
Detective Gordon: The First Case
A brilliant detective story by one of Sweden's top children’s writers and illustrated in full colour throughout. A book to read alone or aloud! Read more...
Detective Gordon: A Complicated Case by Ulf Nilsson
A warm and funny illustrated chapter book about doing the right thing - and eating little cakes. Something is going on in the forest. Read more...
Detective Gordon: A Case In Any Case
A stand-alone story in the warm and funny bestselling series about philosopher detective Gordon and his clever assistant Buffy. Read more...
A Rhyming and Wordplay Picture Book
My Pictures after the Storm by Éric Veillé
A funky little book that takes the "before" and "after" concept to unexpected places. Read more...
An Unexpected Hero by L P Hansen
This year's Read Aloud National Campaign choice. An Unexpected Hero tells the tale of 12-year-old Matt, who decides to speak about World War 1 pacifist Archie Baxter, father of poet James K. Baxter. Read more...
When life gives you lemons
A resource for young people dealing with depression and anxiety by Celia Painter and Abbie Krieble. Read more...
Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls by Elena Favilli and Francesca Cavallo
What if the princess didn't marry Prince Charming but instead went on to be an astronaut. Read more...
Charisma by Jeanne Ryan
An edge-of-your-seat thriller from the bestselling author of, Nerve, the book behind 2016's hottest YA film, starring Emma Roberts, Dave Franco & Juliette Lewis. Read more...
About Last Night . . . by Catherine Alliott
The funny, enthralling and heartwarming story of a woman who gets a second chance in life - but will she have the courage to take it. Read more...
Humans, Bow Down by James Patterson
In a world run by machines, humans are an endangered species. Read more...
The Fall of Lisa Bellow by Susan Perabo
The breakout novel from the critically acclaimed author of the short story collections Who I Was Supposed to Be and Why They Run the Way They Do - when a middle school girl is abducted in broad daylight, a fellow student and witness to the crime copes with the tragedy in an unforgettable way. Read more...
History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
You're still alive in alternate universes, Theo, but I live in the real world where this morning you're having an open casket funeral. Read more...
Biographical Pick:
JOHN KEY: PORTRAIT OF A PRIME MINISTER by John Roughan
An updated in-depth portrait of former New Zealand Prime Minister John Key, including why he walked away. Read more...
4 New Children's Comedic Fiction Paperbacks:
Dork Diaries 1 - Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life
Meet Nikki Maxwell! She’s starting eighth grade at a new school - and her very first diary packed with hilarious stories and art in this SUPER SQUEE updated edition of Book One of the #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series! Read more...
King Flashypants and the Creature from Crong by Andy Riley
The second book in the insanely funny debut children's series from Emmy award-winning comedy writer and cartoonist Andy Riley, scriptwriter for BBC One's Gangsta Granny and The Boy in the Dress. Read more...
THE YOUNG MAGICIANS AND THE THIEVES' ALMANAC by Nick Mohammed
The first hilarious middle-grade mystery-adventure from rising star comedian, actor and magician, Nick Mohammed... Read more...
SEE YOU IN THE COSMOS by JACK CHENG
A space-obsessed boy and his dog, Carl Sagan, take a journey toward family, love, hope, and awe in this funny and moving novel for fans of Counting by 7s and Walk Two Moons. Read more...
LIFE COACHING for Women:
JUGGLING IN HIGH HEELS by Lisa O'Neill
How to Organise Chaos. How to survive life, look good and laugh! Read more...
ADULT FICTION:
THE HEART'S INVISIBLE FURIES by John Boyne
Truly the best of John Boyne - hilarious, touching and deeply sad The Heart's Invisible Furies is the breakout book Boyne was born to write. Read more...
YOU SAID FOREVER by Susan Lewis
The compelling new novel from the Sunday Times Top Ten bestselling author of No Child of Mine and Don't Let Me Go. Read more...
Adult Sci-Fi Fantasy:
All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai
You know the future that people in the 1950s imagined we'd have? Well, it happened. Read more...
Young Adult Romance:
A Secret Garden by Katie Fforde
Romance, humour and happy-ever-after endings are included in Katie Fforde's brand new novel for 2017. Read more...
Romantic Comedy Pick:
How Not to Fall in Love, Actually
A hilarious debut for all fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Lisa Owens. The perfect antidote for Valentine's Day! Read more...
Best Selling Historical Novel by NZ Author:
Lewisville by Alexandra Tidswell
Martha Grimm escapes to New Zealand with her daughter Mary Ann from Warwickshire in 1814. Read more...


Testimonial
Hi Ann and the TSTNZ Team I am emailing you to express just how much I appreciate the Book Reviews on the Tomorrow’s Schools Today Website, in The Staffroom Monthly Magazine page. I use these reviews for purchasing new books for our school library and look forward to these reviews each month. They are well written, with just enough content to allow me to know which reader the book would interest. Regards Annette McKitrick, Librarian Waimea Intermediate School, Richmond, Nelson